Gary Hansen began his third term on the Eagan City Council in January, 2015. He served as acting mayor when needed in Mayor Maguire’s absence in 2011 and 2016.

Gary has a BS degree in Economics and Political Science from South Dakota State University and a JD degree from Mitchell Hamline School of Law. He and his wife Kathy have two daughters, Andrea Murphy and Kelly Darwitz; sons-in-law, Daniel Murphy and Ryan Darwitz; a son, Tim; and four granddaughters.

Gary is a retired risk management professional and a commercial arbitrator. He previously served on and chaired of the Eagan and Dakota County Planning Commissions. He is a past member of the Eagan Athletic Association Board of Directors, and currently is active in the Minnesota State Bar Association as chair of the Legislative Committee and is a Mitchell Hamline School of Law Alumni Board member. In addition, he is a charter member of the Eagan Kick-Start Rotary Club.

Councilmember Hansen is the liaison to the Advisory Planning Commission and serves on the Council’s Communications Committee. He represents Eagan on the Dakota Communications Center Board, the Minnesota Valley Transit Authority Board, and the Suburban Transit Association Board. He is immediate past president of the Association of Metropolitan Municipalities (Metro Cities) and a Metro Cities representative on the regional Transportation Advisory Board.